Breaking News

Senate confirms 7 out of 9 INEC RECs

By Henry Umoru

ABUJA—THE Senate yesterday confirmed seven more Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The confirmation followed consideration of the report of the screening of Nominees by the Senator Suleiman Nazif, APC, Bauchi North led Senate Committee on INEC by the Senators


Nine names were sent to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari for consideration and subsequent confirmation.

The Senate had  on  Thursday, December 21, referred to the Committee on INEC the request of the President.

The sent names were Baba Abba Yusuf, Borno for reappointment; Segun Agbaje, Ekiti also for reappointment;    Elder  Monday  Udoh Tom, Akwa Ibom as new appointment; Eric Okawale, Osun, new appointment; Dr. Utamaro Abdulrahman Ajidagba, Kwara, new appointment; and Dr. Cyril Omorogbe, Edo, new appointment.

Others were Yahaya Bello, Nasarawa, new appointment; Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart, Rivers, new appointment and Mohammed Magaji Ibeahim, Gombe, new appointment.

At the end of the day, those    confirmed were Baba Abba Yusuf (Borno); Dr. Uthman Abdulrahman Ajidagba (Kwara); Mr. Segun Agbaje (Ekiti); Dr. Cyril Omorogbe (Edo); Yahaya Bello, Nasarawa; Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart (Rivers) and Mohammed Mogaji Ibrahim (Gombe).

According to the report, out of the nine nominees, only eight appeared before the Committee as that of Osun did not appear for screening.

It also said that the nominee from Akwa Ibom State was stood down for further legislative consultation.

The Committee has twenty members, just as only two did not sign the report.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.