Breaking News

F/Eagles battle Brazil, Argentina

Nigeria’s U20 team will defend the trophy they won at an invitational tournament in South Africa against Brazil and Argentina from May 24.

Organisers of the eight-nation invitational tournament in Cape Town, South Africa, have confirmed that the event will be played between May 24 and June 3 with Nigeria’s Flying Eagles as cup holders, having won the 2010 inaugural edition that also featured Brazil and Ghana.

The eight participating countries are champions Nigeria, South Africa, Egypt, Brazil, Japan, Argentina, Cameroon and Ghana, who are all leading youth football powers in the world.

Brazil lifted a fifth FIFA U20 World Cup title in Colombia last year.

Argentina won their first world title in 1979 in Japan, defeating Cup holders Soviet Union with the exquisite skills of Diego Maradona and Ramon Diaz. The South Americans also won in 1995, 1997 and 2001, 2005 (defeating Nigeria in the final in Utrecht) and 2007.

But Brazil also reached the final in 1991, 1995 and 2009, losing to Portugal, Argentina and Ghana respectively.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.