Breaking News

Peaceful election as Lagosians vote council executives

Lagos  – Accreditation and voting began before 9 a.m. on Saturday in most parts of Lagos State for elections into its 20 local government areas (LGAs) and 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs).

About 5000 candidates from 28 political parties are participating in the elections in which 57 chairmen and 376 councillors would be elected.

The most visible political parties include the ruling Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), People Democratic Party (PDP), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP) and Accord Party (AP).

The outgoing local council chairmen in the state are all of the ACN.

NAN correspondents in Epe, Badagry, Ikorodu, Lagos Island, Agege, Isolo, etc, report that as at 8 a.m., electoral officers had started distributing voting materials.

Some residents of Agbado Oke-Odo LCDA and Festac town in Amuwo Odofin council were  at the polling  booths as early as 8 a.m. but electoral materials did not arrive until between 8.30 a.m. and 9 a.m.

Policemen and party representatives were at the booths before 8 a.m.

Voting began at 10:30 at the polling Unit 2, Ward G3, Surulere where Gov. Babatunde Fashola would vote.   The governor had yet to come out.

The state government restricted vehicular movement from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. to ensure peaceful elections.

Hundreds of youths converted the empty roads to football pitches. The Orile-Mile 2 Road, the Agege Motor Road and the Lawanson Roads are among those turned into fields.

Security personnel were scarcely seen on the roads contrary to what obtained during the general elections in April.

Complaints of shortage and delay in the distribution of electoral materials have, however, continued to trail the conduct of the council poll in Badagry.

At Badagry Grammar School Polling Centre, only 100 ballot papers each were received for the chairmanship and councillorship elections, whereas registered voters were 700.

The same situation occurred at L.A Primary School Badagry where 100 polling officials were issued with 100 ballot papers for the 700 electorates registered

Alhaji Ajagbe Adejumo, a PDP leader in Badagry, said that the observed delay may demoralize their supporters from voting.

Ahmed Olabisi, LASIEC officer in Badagry, said the delay was due to refusal of the police to accompany voting materials from LASIEC office to the polling units.

At Odomola, Maforija and Odoselu communities in Eredo LCDA, Epe, voting was going on smoothly, even though NAN observed that the presence of policemen was scanty.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.