Breaking News

PDP Inaugurates Convention Planning Committee

National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Ahmed Makarfi on Tuesday inaugurated the party’s National Convention Planning Committee headed Governor Ifeanyi Okowa with a charge that they. immediately devote themselves to the preparations for the Special Non-Elective National Convention on August 12.

Speaking at the brief ceremony held at the Chida International Hotel, Abuja,  Senator Makarfi  said that the members of the National Convention Planning Committee have exhibited high level of commitment and loyalty to the party stressing that the national leadership has confidence in their ability to organise a hitch-free convention.

“We appreciate your commitment towards ensuring that we are back to power at the Centre and in more states, I urge you all to work together as a team to ensure the success of the convention and be rest assured of the party’s support where necessary.”

The Chairman proclaimed that with the inauguration of the committees, the party is officially set to recover it’s lost grounds.

In his response, Senator Okowa, Chairman of the Committee, thanked the party for the opportunity to serve, promising that the members would immediately devote themselves to the onerous task of making the special non-elective national convention a successful one.

“The Committee is comprised of eminent Nigerians and party chieftains with vast experience. We shall organize a convention that will not only positively shake  Abuja but the entire country, The task before the committee is a daunting one as we have barely 48 hours to plan and this requires that all hands must be on deck to ensure that the Committee delivers on its mandate,” he said.

Present at the inauguration were party chieftains including Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan, Senator Liyel Imoke, Babangida Aliyu and Celestine Omehia,  former PDP Governors ofDelta, Cross River, Niger and Rivers States.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.