Breaking News

2019 Elections: INEC constitutes 16-member planning c’ttee

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, yesterday inaugurated a 16-member Election Project Plan Committee, EPPC, to coordinate its preparations for the 2019 elections.


A statement signed by the Chairman of INEC Information and Voter Education Committee, Adedeji Soyebi, said the commission also approved the 2017 – 2021 strategic plan for immediate implementation, following approval by stakeholders.

The EPPC’s terms of reference are to coordinate all departmental and state inputs into the planning of elections; monitor the performance of the two-year budget estimates for the general elections, identify gaps and advise the commission appropriately; and produce a comprehensive, valued Election Project Plan, EPP, for the commission’s approval.

Others are to ensure the integration of the EPP and the EMS for effective implementation and monitoring; and provide quarterly progress report on the implementation of the EPP up to the election day.

The committee members include Okechukwu Ibeanu, National Commissioner (Chairman); Adekunle Ogunmola, National Commissioner (Member);  Abubakar Nahuche, National Commissioner (Member); Bolade Eyinla, Chief Technical Adviser to Chairman (Member); and Mohammad Kuna, Special Adviser to Chairman (Member).

Others are Rotimi Oyekanmi, CPS to Chairman (Member); Abubakar Momoh, Director General, Electoral Institute (Member); A.T Yusuf, Director, Operations (Member); Chidi Nwafor, Director ICT (Member); Iro Gambo, Director, Voter Registry (Member); and Aminu Idris, Director, EPM (Member).














Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.