Breaking News

Screening of commissioner nominees tears Akoko Edo APC apart

By Simon Ebegbulem

BENIN—CRISIS is brewing in the All Progressives Congress, APC, in Akoko Edo Local Government Area of Edo State, following allegations of unlawful and unilateral nomination of candidates for the position of commissioner  and constitution of a committee to screen them without following due process levelled against the chairman of the party in the council, Mr Jeffery Obasanmi, by leaders of the party.

It will be recalled that the leadership of the party in the state had directed the 18 local government chairmen of the party to liaise with other leaders to submit five commissioner nominees from each council to Governor Godwin Obaseki after they must have been screened by the party leaders at the council level.

However, 10 ward leaders of the party rose from a meeting, yesterday, passing a vote of no confidence in the chairman and mandated the vice chairman of the party to take over the running of the party.

Some of those who signed the petition against the chairman include Ashorfor Sylvester,  Afolabi Daudu,  Gbenga Martins, Mrs Victoria Balogun and six others.

The Chief Whip of the state House of Assembly and member representing the area in the Assembly, Mr Kabiru Adjoto, who reacted to the vote of no confidence, said, “The entire leadership in Akoko Edo has rejected the chairman. He constituted an illegal committee to screen unqualified people as commissioner nominees.”



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.