Breaking News

Jonathan appoints Vanguard GM UNILAG’s Governing Council member

PRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan, yesterday, approved the constitution of four governing councils of  federal universities in the country.

They include the University of Lagos, UNILAG; Federal University of Agriculture, Umuduike; University of Benin, Benin and the Obafemi Awolowo, Ile Ife.

Those appointed for UNIBEN include Senator Effiong Dickson Bob, Chairman; Jamila Fakik, member; J.K.A Gazama, SAN, member; Chief Samuel Edohoeket, member and Arch Shettima Mohammed Sale, also member.

NGE President, Gbenga Adefaye
Vanguard GM, Gbenga Adefaye

Those appointed for the University of Lagos are Prof Jerry Gana, Chairman; Dr. Monday Ohoni, member; Igwe Chris Onyekwuluje, member; Dr. Garba Usman Tetenji, SAN, member; and the General Manager/ Editor- in- Chief of Vanguard Newspaper, Mr Gbenga Adefaye, member.

Members of the council for the University of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia State include Prof. Anya O. Anya, chairman;  Chief Chris Iroegbe, member; Rasheed Kola Ojikutu, Ph.D, member; and Mr Akinboro Muyiwa, member. The Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, has Prof. Rowland Ndoma-Egba, chairman; Moses Otazi, member; Omoyele Daniel, member; Hon Tijjani Goni Guzamala, member and Sunday Ibrahim Ameh, SAN, member.

According to a statement signed by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim; each university governing council shall also include the Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellors; one person selected from the  Federal Ministry of Education; four persons appointed by the Senate from its members, two persons appointed by the Congregation among its members and one person appointed by Convocation among its members.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.