Breaking News

Orji appoints ASOPADEC board members

Umuahia—Governor Theodore Orji of Abia has sent a list of 10-man Abia State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission, ASOPADEC, members to the state House of Assembly.

The letter was sent by the Governor to  the Speaker, Chief  Agwu Agwu, and read on the floor of the House in Umuahia. The law on ASOPADEC was signed by the Governor in 2009.

The members of the board are Chief Samuel Nworgu, who will serve as chairman and Chief Nkwachukwu Agumuo, as the secretary of the commission.

Chief Emeka Stanley, a former legislator and Commissioner for Works, will represent Ukwaland on the board, Mr Peter Aguwamba (Ugwunagbo), and Mr Chike Nwanunu (Isialangwa North and South). Others are Chief Brass Mkpa (Ikwuano), Chief George Nnanna-Kalu, a former Commissioner for Agriculture (Ohafia) and Eze Benson Ugwuche (Umunneochi).

The agencies on the board include, representatives of Ministry of Finance, Petroleum, and State Planning Commission.
The Speaker directed Mr John Irokansi to request members of the board designate to forward 30 copies of their credentials to the House within one week to enable the lawmakers screen them.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.