Breaking News

Breaking: INEC declares Ogun East Senatorial election inconclusive

Kindly Share This Story:

By Daud Olatunji,Abeokuta

The Ogun East Senatorial District election has been declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission .

A staff of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) carries ballot papers at a local office of INEC in Port Harcourt, southern Nigeria, on February 22, 2019, a day before postponed voting day. ( AFP)

The Returning Officer for the district , Prof. Chris Nwoka made the declaration in Ijebu-Ode on Monday .

Before the declaration the APC had a total of 84,929 votes, while the PDP polled 82,457 votes from results so far collated from nine local government areas.

There was chaos in the hall as Nwoka was about to declare the APC senatorial candidate, Senator Mustapha Olalekan winner over his closest rival, Sosanwo Ayoola of the PDP.

The PDP supporters protested against the results, lamenting the cancellation of results in Ward 10, Ajebandele, in the Ijebu East Local Government Area of the state.

No more pants for me, says Lizzygold Onuwaje

They said the total number of voters in the ward exceeded the difference between the two leading parties.

It was gathered that the entire ward results were cancelled because the number of voters in one of the units exceeded the number of accredited voters.

It was gathered that the confusion would be sorted out at Abeokuta office of the commission, where all the broadsheets had been taken to.

Meanwhile, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for Ijebu Central, Ogun State, Korede Osunsanya, has been declared winner of the House of Representatives election.

Osunsanya polled 25,608 votes to beat his closest rival, Taiwo Shote of the Peoples Democratic Party, who had 21,775 votes.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Michael Ozoje, declared the APC candidate winner on Monday amidst jubilation by his supporters at Itoro, Ijebu Ode, the collation centre for the senatorial district.

Gabriel Onabajo of the ADC polled 2,597 votes; Anthony Ogunbayo of the ADP polled 2418 votes, while Giwa Kolashade of the APM polled 533 votes.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!