Breaking News

Plateau gets 6 new ministries

Gov Simon Lalong of Plateau has created six additional ministries to the 17 existing ministries in the state, bringing the total to 23 in the state.

Mr Rufus Bature, Secretary to the Government of Plateau, made the announcement in a statement made available to the Newsmen on Saturday in Jos.

Simon Lalong

He said that Five of the ministries were carved out from the existing ones

He  added that new ministries were Ministry of Transport, Mineral development,  and Ministry of Physical and Urban Planing.

Others  include  Ministry of Economic Planing, Ministry of Science and Technology and Ministry of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs.

He said the creation of ministries was in line with government determination to reinvigorate its machinery to deliver on the five policy thrust of the administration.

Commenting on how the ministries were created,  Bature noted  that Ministry of Transport was  carved out from the Ministry of Works and Transport.

“Ministry of Mineral Development is to be excised from the Ministry of Environment and Mineral Development.

“The Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development has been carved out of the present Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.

“ Ministry of Economic Planning has been created out of Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning and State Planning Commission”.

According to him, Ministry of Science and Technology has been created out of the present Ministry of Education, Science and Technology.

Bature added that Ministry of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs  was the only new created ministry.

He said that the new ministries will take off immediately.


All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.