Breaking News

NFVCB inaugurates task force to tackle piracy


The regulatory body responsible for the screening and approval of movies in Nigeria, National Film and Videos Censors Board, NFVCB, Wednesday, inaugurated a viable national task force which has been saddled with the responsibility of  lawfully clampdown on unclassified films and video works/unlicensed distributors in the industry.

At the inauguration ceremony which held at the agency’s regional  office, in Ikoyi, Lagos,  Executive Director of the Board, Alhaji Adedayo Thomas, who has spent just 2-months plus in office, lamented the deplorable state of the Nigerian movie industry, blaming the underdevelopment in the industry on piracy and disunity among stake holders in the industry.  He noted that the activities of the pirates have eaten deep into the fabrics of the movie industry thus causing a lot of investors and stakeholders to run into bankruptcy.

“The NFVCB is a strategic parastatal of the federal republic of Nigeria, under the ministerial supervision of the federal ministry of information and culture. As a regulatory body saddled with the responsibility of regulating the censorship, distribution and exhibition of films and video works in Nigeria, and to leverage on its regulatory roles to create conducive environment for investment and ensure the security of such investment. To the detriment of the industry, we must admit that the board has not lived up to expectation in recent years, leading to chaos in the system; a chaotic system that has taken profit away from the right beneficiaries of the profiteers of the laxity in the regulatory efforts.

We have therefore selected men and women of impeccable character cutting across various interests in the industry, thoroughbred professionals who have immensely contributed to the sector and who know exactly where the shoe pinches; to man the task force”, he said. Members of the task force inaugurated include, Chief Eddie Ugbomah, veteran actor, Saint Obi, Dr. Malik, Hajia Aliyu, Mr. Balogun Bamidele, Mr. Tunji, Igwe Gabosky and Mr. Nobert Ajaegbu.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.