Breaking News

AGAN holds 1st ArtExpo Awards

As a way of appreciating the contributions of its patrons, collectors and sponsors for their unfailing patronage and funding of art exhibitions and events in the country, Art Gallery Owners Association of Nigeria (AGAN) is set to hold an award night tagged ArtExpo Awards.

The award which is the first of its kind is scheduled to take place on Saturday, 23rd of July, 2011 at Terra Kulture, Tiamuyi Savage Street, Victoria Island and the time is 3. p.m. prompt.

The award which will be in many categories from media, print, artist of the year, Bank of the year, Patron of the year etc will be attended by many art patrons and lovers among them are Mr Donald Duke, former governor of Cross River State who will present an address, while Arts of Arts management expert, Mr Segun Lawal will present a paper on the Economic Benefits of Arts Patronage. Also expected are Eng. Yemisi Shyllon, Dr Bruce Onabrakpeya, Mr Sam Ovraiti, and others.

In a release made available to Vanguard arts, six art editors including ; McPhilips Nwachukwu, Vanguard, Jahman Anikulapo, Guardian, Okechukwu Uwaezuoke, Thisday, Molara Wood, Next, Sola Balogun, Sun and Akeem Lasis, Punch are nominated for the ArtExpo’s Art Editor of the year.

According to the release,the event will also feature a red carpet reception, cocktail and fund raising item to raise money to support other AGAN activities, such as the Artexpo book and magazines, art seminars and debates as well as the welfare of some visiting students to the Artexpo.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.