Breaking News

2011: Steer clear of partisanship, IG warns CPs

By Kingsley Omonobi
ABUJA — Inspector General of Police, Hafiz Abubakar Ringim, yesterday, warned police commissioners in the country to steer clear of partisan politics and ensure their relationships with the governors of the states began and ended with providing security for lives and property.

He said as the 2011 general elections approached, the “boys would soon be separated from the men.”
Speaking during the decoration of 33 newly promoted police commissioners in Abuja, the IG said: “Politics is around the corner. In a few months, we will have elections. The nation watches. Things will begin to heat up and that is when we will separate the men from the boys. We have no choice but to prove ourselves that we are capable.

“Some of you will be posted to commands. I want to repeat this warning to CPs, steer clear of partisan politics. I want to say that from the voting, the counting, and announcement, before, during and after the exercise, that we shall come out unscathed.  We have no choice anyway.

“We have to show that we are capable and competent because the nation depends 100 per cent on the performance of the Police Force for a successful polls. Yes, you could say there are other law enforcement agencies to support the police but the police force is in the forefront.

“So henceforth, whatever we do, whatever we say is what will determine our sincerity, our honesty, our determination to see this nation through this political and democratic times.”

On promotions, the IG expressed joy that a whopping 33 deputy commissioners were elevated to commissioners, noting that “there is nothing like being promoted as at when due but I must warn that promotion comes with a lot of responsibility, more dedication and discipline.”

The officers are CP Abayomi Akeremale, CP in charge armament; CP Simon Midenda, CP Ikechukwu Aduba, CP (Mrs.) Chintua Amajor, CP Ikemefuna Okoye, CP James Caulcrick, CP (Mrs.) Sherifat Fapounda, CP Fabian Ojiri, CP Lawal Tanko, CP Hassan Adamu, CP (Mrs.) Margret Hart, CP Godfrey Okeke, CP Titus Okolo, CP Charles Abutu, CP Stephen Atama, CP Nicolas Nkedeme, CP James Aroniyo, and CP Charles Abutu.

Others are CP Sunday Ogonna, CP Sylvester Umeh, CP Suleiman Lawal, CP Longinus Nwaka, CP Mgbakor Ogigia, CP Buhari Tanko, CP Mohammed Indabawa, CP Samson Ogunlowo, CP Emmanuel Obiakor, CP (Mrs.) Adenike Abuwa, CP (Mrs.) Abimbola Macaulay, CP (Mrs.) Grace Chita Okudo, CP (Dr.) Arnold Abuah and CP (Dr.) Ebune Vincent Okaa.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.