Breaking News

NDDC: Ondo lawmakers reject Enikuomehin’s nomination

By Dayo Johnson
NATIONAL Assembly members from Ondo State have rejected the nomination of the Mr Benson Enikuomehin as the Commissioner to represent the state on the board of the Niger Delta Development Commission NDDC, thereby deepening the crisis that his nomination has generated.

In two separate statements to the Chairman Senate Committtee on NDDC and the Senate President, David Mark, two of the three Senators representing the state, Dr Bode Olajumoke representing Ondo North Senatorial District and Senator Gbenga Ogunniya representing Ondo Central Senatorial District are opposed to Enikuomehin’s nomination.

However, the other Senator representing Ondo South Senatorial District, Senator Hosea Ehinlanwo did not sign the rejection letters.

Also, all the eight House of Representatives members representing the state in their statements were unanimous in rejecting his nomination.

In the statements the National Assembly members said “We the undersigned senators and House of Representatives members from Ondo State, based on the resolution of the Ondo State Caucus of the National Assembly, hereby convey our opposition to the nomination of Mr Benson Enikuomehin by the President to represent Ondo State on the board of the NDDC.

“It should be noted that our opposition in this regard is based on the general disposition of the major stakeholders from the oil producing communities of the state, which to all intent and purposes, does not favour Mr Enikuomehin”.

“Consequently, with all due sense of responsibility and towards playing our role as the true representatives of the people of Ondo State in the National Assembly, we are duty bound to oppose and we hereby oppose the nomination and on that note request that the senate should not confirm the nomination.

The Members said they arrived at the decision at the state caucus of the national assembly after an extensive deliberation on the issue.

Nomination of Enikuomehin has generated controversy in the oil producing communities of the state in the last one month.

While the State Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state preferred the former chairman of Ondo State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (OSOPADEC), Chief Adewale Omojuwa, the state government preferred Enikuemehin.

Also, some leaders in the communities are in support of Philemon Ebiesuawa who is equally eyeing the position.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.