June 11, 2009

Uduaghan sacks SUBEB, appoints new chairman, members

By Austin Ogwuda
ASABA—DELTA State House of Assembly yesterday confirmed the appointment of one of the Special Advisers to the governor, Mrs. Pat Ejete, as the new Chairperson of the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) and three others.

Her confirmation is a clear indication that the state government has finally taken a decision to sack the former members of the Board, led by Mrs. Nken Okwuofu.

Other confirmed members of the board are Dickson Akporhe, Bello Orubebe and Mrs. May Inije.

The confirmation of the appointment of the new board, yet to be inaugurated, was sequel to a letter sent to the House by Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan, which was read on the floor of the House during yesterday’s sitting.

All the nominees were given clean bill of health, including Eng. Gbesimi Akperi as commissioner representing Itsekiri nation at the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC).

Delta state government had on March 20, this year, during the heat of the crisis rocking the board, announced the suspension of the board members and a panel of inquiry set up.

The crisis at the board arising from outright rejection of transfer by some senior staff of the establishment got to a head when hired thugs invaded the premises destroying government property and wounding several staff.

This resulted in a criminal case currently pending at an Asaba magistrate’s court. Members of the board were also at each others’ throats.