Breaking News

Breaking: Governors meet to nominate team to interface with NASS on state police

By Johnbosco Agbakwuru
ABUJA – GOVERNORS of the 36 States of the federation are currently meeting at the Old Banquet Hall, Presidential Villa, Abuja, to nominate a team among them that will interface with the National Assembly on the proposed establishment of state police.


The issue of state police has received acceptance from the presidency and the state Governors under the umbrella of Nigeria’s Governors Forum, NGF, especially in the midst of security challenges in the country.

At the closing of a two-day summit on national security organised by the Senate which was declared open by the Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo, state governors and the National Assembly had agreed to allow states to have their own police.

This was in support of the position of Osinbajo who stated at the opening of the event on Thursday that state police was “the way to go.”

Other issues on the agenda is the Recovery of stamp duties and Improving Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) through harmonized motor registry/traffic management system by Dimensions Information Technology.

The meeting which started at 9pm is presided over by the NGF Chairman and Zamfara State Governor, Abdulazeez Yari.

The first meeting for the year held on 17th January and the governors were briefed by the constitutional amendment committee headed by Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State, health agenda for 2018 which was meant to get their commitment to universal health care coverage, polio eradication and nutrition among others.

The governors were also briefed by the Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun on the finances due the state.

Those in attendance as at the time of filing this report were, governors of Bauchi, Mohammed Abubakar, Borno, Kashim Shettima, Kebbi, Atiku Bagudu, Kogi, Yahaya Bello, Kwara, Abdulfatah Ahmed, Jigawa, Ibrahim Hassan, Ondo, Rotimi Akeredolu, Kaduna, Nasir El-Rufai, Nasarawa, Tanko Al-makura, Kano, Abdullahi Ganduje and Edo, Godwin Obaseki.

The deputy governors in attendance are Benue, Benson Abounu, Ebonyi, Kelechi Igwe, Enugu, Cecelia Ezeilo, Plateau, Sonni Gwanle Tyoden, Osun, Titi Laoye-Tomori, Rivers, Ipalibo Banigo, Ogun, Yetunde Onanuga, Akwa Ibom, Moses Ekpo Ekiti, Kolapo Olusola, Sokoto, Ahmed Aliyu, and Lagos, Oluranti Adebule.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.