By Chinonso Alozie

Owerri—Speakers of the 36 state Houses of Assembly, yesterday, passed a motion calling on President Muhammadu Buhari, to use security agencies to checkmate activities of agitators, just as some lawmakers slightly disagreed.

The special session took place at the Imo state House of Assembly with the motion presented by the Majority leader, Mr. Lugard Osuji, and sponsored by all the 36   Speakers of the state Houses of Assembly.

Hate Speech

However, in what looks like a contrary view, the Ondo State Speaker, Mr Bamidele Oleyelogun, requested that the reasons for the various agitations should be looked into.

Another drama that was averted was when the member representing Aboh Mbaise state constituency in Imo state, Mr. Mike Iheanatu, raised his hands for contrary view but was not given the opportunity, by Imo Speaker, Acho Ihim.

Vanguard captured part of the resolution as presented by Osuji, “The President  is urged to direct all security agencies to monitor the activities of the groups and ensure that perpetrators of violence and breach of peace are promptly and decisively dealt with in accordance with the law of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“The violent approach adopted by the members of the various ethnic, political and religious groups whose actions are threatening the unity and territorial integrity of Nigeria is hereby condemned.

“Any ethnic group or persons that have complaints or grievances should channel such complaints or grievances through their elected representatives at the Federal or state levels.

“All ethnic, political and religious groups, herdsmen, farmers, aggrieved ethnic groups and agitators are urged to stop all hostilities and any act that is capable of triggering crisis.”

But  Oleyelogun differed,saying:  “Why don’t we ask why those people agitating are doing so? We must know their reasons, especially now that  we are talking about power devolution.”

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.