By Henry Umoru
ABUJA – SENATOR Ovie Omo Agege, Labour Party, LP, Delta Central on Tuesday dumped his party for the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

Prior to his defection, the Senator remained the only opposition Senator in the 8th Senate outside the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.


Announcing this on the floor of the Senate, Tuesday, Senator Omo- Agege said that his movement became imperative following the irreconcilable leadership quagmire in the party, just as he said that he had to listen to his constituents who asked him to move over to the party at the Centre where they could benefit more from the Federal government’s development drive in the country.

Senator Omo- Agege’s defection came barely some days after Senator Andy Uba left his party, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP for the APC.

Nelson Asuquo Effiong, Akwa Ibom South had on January 19, also dumped the PDP for the APC.

It would also be recalled that Senator Joshua Dariye, PDP, Plateau Central and Senator Yele Omogunwa, PDP, Ondo South had in October and November respectively last year dumped the PDP for the APC.

Also recall that at the inauguration of the 8th Senate in June 2015 APC had 59 Senators after the death of Senator Ahmad Zannah while PDP had 49 Senators totaling 108, a composition that later changed to 63 APC senators, 44 PDP Senators and 1 Labour Party Senator after conclusion of all the rerun senatorial elections ordered by electoral tribunals and voluntary defections of some PDP senators to APC.

Details later..

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.