Breaking News

Six Lagos PDP Lawmakers set to defect to APC

By Ebun Sessou
Six out of the eight lawmakers from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Lagos State House of Assembly are set to defect to the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Sources close to the lawmakers confirmed that the planned defection is still being kept as a secret, but we were told that the defection is a done deal, adding that it is a product of months of discussion between the leaders of the APC on one hand and all the eight PDP members in the assembly.

The members of the PDP in the assembly include the Minority Leader, Akeem Bello from Amuwo Odofin Constituency 2, the Minority Whip, Mosunmola Sangodara from Surulere Constituency 2, Dipo Olorunrinu from Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1 and Victor Akande from Ojo Constituency 1.

Others are Akeem Shokunle from Oshodi/Isolo Constituency 1, Jude Idimogu from Oshodi/Isolo Constituency 1, Dayo Famakinwa, Ajeromi Ifelodun 2 and Oluwa Fatai from Ajeromi/Ifelodun 1.

We were reliably informed that the lawmakers are considering defecting to take the path due to the crisis in the party at the state and federal levels.

“I can confirm to you that six of the PDP lawmakers in the Lagos State House of Assembly would soon defect to the APC, but status quo will remain as they would not want to stop holding their present positions in the house until further notice.

“What I know is that a lot of things are going on in the party and still would never remain the same. One would have expected them to declare openly either on the floor of the House or through a press conference, but they did not do any of these,” the source said.

Speaking in an interview, one of the members of PDP, Jude Idimogu denied the speculations, but added that it is not impossibility.
“We have not defected yet. We are all still in the PDP to the best of my knowledge. I know there are crisis in the party, but we are yet to move. We are all still here. If we want to move, it would be done on the floor of the house or through a press conference,” he said.

It will be recalled that there was no PDP lawmaker in the 7th Assembly in the state as all the 40 members were from the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), which metamorphosed to the APC.
However, in the 6th Assembly, one of the three PDP members in the assembly then,  Hodewu Suuru Avoseh, who had earlier been impeached as the Minority Leader of the House, defected to the ACN then.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.