Breaking News

We’re re-positioning to regain power in 2019 since APC govt has failed Nigerians – PDP

By Ben Agande, Abuja
The Peoples Democratic Party ‘Thursday vowed that it will not stand by and watch the mandate given to it by Nigerians to be taken to other parties.

Addressing the press at the end of its expanded National Executive Council as well as its caucus in Abuja today, the spokesman of the Party, Prince Dayo Adeyeye said the party will fight to reclaim it’s mandate.

from the left, Chairman PDP Governors Forum, Ayodele Fayose; PDP National Chairman, Ahmed Mekarfi and the PDP National Secretary, Ben Obi during the PDP National Working Committee and Expanded Caucus Meeting at the International Conference Centre, Abuja. Photo by Abayomi Adeshida 26/01/2017

Prince Adeyeye who was reacting to the defection of some it’s members in the National Assembly to the ruling All Progressive Congress recently reiterated that the party will challenge such defections.

According to him, the party was re-positioning itself to regain power in 2019 since the APC government has failed Nigerians.

While regretting the negative impact the leadership crisis was having on the party in the discharge of its responsibilities as a party in opposition, Prince Adeyeye said it would not be deterred in carrying out its duties.

“it is unfortunate that some of our members are being used to destabilize the party but we will remain focused. We will resolve this crisis and move ahead with our vision and mission for Nigeria ” he said.

Earlier in a remark, the chairman of the caretaker committee, Senator Ahmed Malaria enjoined the leaders of the party in the states not to be distracted by the leadership challenge at the National level but to remain focused on mobilising the people at the grass root.

Senator Malaria who prayed for the speedy recovery of president Muhammad Buhari said with the impending ruling on the court of appeal in Portharcourt, he was sure that the party will bounce back in full force.

Todays meting was attended by some PDP governors, members of the National Assembly, former governors, as well as former ministers.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.