November 26, 2015

Mimiko nominates four new commissioners

Mimiko nominates four new commissioners


By Dayo Johnson

Akure—GOVERNOR Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo State has  forwarded the names of four commissioner- nominees to the state House of Assembly for confirmation.

The nominees include members of both the old and new Peoples Democratic Party in the state.

They are Mr. Femi Adekanmbi, Mr. Segun Ayerin, Mrs. Yetunde Adeyanju and Mr. Dayo Awude.

Adekanmbi  was a former House of Representatives aspirant on the defunct ACN before he jumped ship to the PDP; Ayerin was a former chairman of the state Electricity Board; Mrs Adeyanju was a former chairman of the state Waste Management Board while Awude was the immediate past chairman of the state Scholarship Board.

Adekanbi and Ayeri belong to the old PDP while Awude and Adeyanju are of the new PDP stock.

The Secretary to the State Government, Dr. Aderotimi Adelola, said in a statement in Akure that the nomination is in exercise of the governor’s power under section 192 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Meanwhile,  the House of Assembly has invited the four commissioner nominees to appear before the Committee on Selection on Tuesday December 1, 2015.