Breaking News

Rivers LG polls: Winners get certificates of return

By Jimitota Onoyume

PORT HARCOURT: Rivers State Independent Electoral Commission, RSIEC, Chairman,  Professor Augustine Ahiazu, has presented certificates of return to the All Progressives Congress, APC, candidates who won the 22 local government chairmanship seats and 297 councillorship seats contested for in the just concluded council elections in the state.

Describing the election as peaceful, Professor Ahiazu commended those who participated in the exercise.

“The chairmanship seats were won by APC in all the 22 councils where elections held. As you know, there were no elections at Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni Local Government Area because they just had their election last year.

“APC won 297 Wards out of 302 wards. The remaining wards were won by ADC in Etche Ward 3,  PPA in Ahoada West Ward 2, and in Ahoada East Ward 4 SDP won the seat there. In Ahoada East Ward 8, election was inconclusive,” he said.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.