April 1, 2015

APC sweeps 3 Lagos senatorial seats

By Olasunkanmi Akoni

LAGOS—Candidates of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the three Lagos senatorial districts, Senators Gbenga Ashafa, Oluremi Tinubu and Solomon Olamilekan Adeola, emerged winners in the last Saturday’s National Assembly elections.

Ashafa won with about 60 per cent of the total vote.

According to results announced by the INEC’s returning officer, Ashafa polled 181,221 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Olabisi Owolabi-Salis, who scored 126,350.

Ashafa won in all the five Local Government that made up Lagos East Senatorial District-Epe, Kosofe, Ikorodu, Ibeju Lekki and Shomolu.

In Lagos West Senatorial District, Solomon Olamilekan Adeola aka Yayi of the APC was returned as the winner. Adeola polled 429,765 votes to beat his rival, Segun Adewale of the PDP, who polled 372,421 in the nation’s largest senatorial district.

He won in six of the 10 Local Governments, namely Alimosho, Agege, Ifako Ijaiye, Mushin, Badagry and Ikeja to beat his rival with 57,344 votes. He lost in Ojo, Amuwo Odofin, Oshodi /Isolo and Ajeromi /Ifelodun.

In Lagos Central, Tinubu of the APC defeated Dr. Ade Dosumu of the PDP and other contestants to retain her seat.