Breaking News

Akpabio reassigns Commissioners, Special Advisers

Commissioners and Special Advisers in Akwa Ibom State have been re-assigned new portfolios in line with the on-going re-invigoration of the machinery of the state government.


Governor Godswill Akpabio, who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government, SSG, Mr. Udom Emmanuel, approved the re-assignment of portfolios.

Emmanuel, who made the announcement at the Governor’s Office, Uyo, yesterday, said commissioners who retained their portfolios include Ekpenyong Ntekim, Ministry of Justice; Mr. Godwin Afangideh, Agriculture; Mr. Don Etim, Works; Dr. Glory Edet, Women Affairs; Dr. EmemAbasi Bassey, Health; Mr. Emmanuel Enoidem, Special Duties and Mr. Enobong Uwah, Environment and Mineral Resources.

Others who retained their positions are Mr. Aniekan Umana, Information and Communications; Mr. Eno Akpan, Lands and Town Planning; Mr. Ufort Nkangude, Commerce and Industry; Mr. Iboro Ekanem, Science and Technology and Mr. Ita Udo, Culture and Tourism.

Those changed or newly appointed include Prince Uwem Etuk, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs; Ante Okwong, Economic Development; Ignatius Edet, Rural Development; Adasi Ubulom, Housing and Urban Renewal and Mr. Akan Okon, Finance.

A new Special Adviser for Bureau of Cooperative and Food Sufficiency, Ekpenyong Enyina, was appointed, while others retained their previous positions.

The new postings take immediate effect.

The state Task Force on Petroleum Monitoring was also re-constituted with Obong Essien Esema as its Chairman.

Members include Sgt. Umar Isa, representative of the Nigerian Army; Mr. Antony Ofuna, representative of the Nigeria Police; Mr. Philip Ibru, representative of the Directorate of State Security; Mrs. Dorothy Umoisong, Office of the Special Services Department; Elder Uwem Edet Akpan, Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria, IPMAN and Chief Francis Inyang, major marketers.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.