Home Video People

March 15, 2014

A night of stars at AMVCA!

A night of stars at AMVCA!

By Benjamin Njoku

It was a night of glamour, glitz and parade of stars. For those who were privileged to attend this year’s edition of the prestigious AfricaMagic Viewers Choice Award, AMVCA, which held last Saturday at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, the spectacular presentation of the best of African actors and actresses interspersed with pulsating music performances from alternative soul singer Bez, popular highlife sensation, Flavour, Davido, Cobhams and Waje will linger in their minds for a long time.

A glamorous red carpet, which stretched for miles, was graced by Nollywood and stars from across the continent. Leading the pack of stars on the red-carpet were Genevieve Nnaji, Funke Akindele, Desmond Elliot, Uche Jombo, Majid Micheal, Rita Dominic, Shirley Frimpong, Mohammed Zain, Jackie Appiah, Hertey Owusu,Yvonne Okoro, Kanayo.O.Kanayo, Joseph Benjamin, Kate Henshaw, Mercy Johnson, Mike Ezuruonye, Yuh Edochie, Aki and Pawpaw, Mr Ibu, Ramsey Nouah, Monalisa Chinda,  and other movie celebrities.

Ramsey-Nouah-AMVCAAt  the event, hosted by the trio of IK Osakioduwa, Osas Ighodaro and Vimbai Mutinhiri, with Eku Edewor and Denrele Edun on the red carpet, a  galaxy of stars took on guest presenter roles. Amidst fast flashing lights and interview-ready- camera crews, the polished style, creative flair and breath-taking elegance of Africa’s fashionistas was undeniable.

Also in the spotlight on the design front was internationally renowned Vlisco whose coveted fabrics beautifully adorned both of the female presenters on the night.

Visibly excited big winners of the night, who came out looking extremely glamorous, expressed delight over their awards with many expressing gratitude to the brand for giving them an opportunity to be celebrated by the world.

Particularly, Osita Iheme’s passionate declaration as he mounted the stage to receive his award as winner of the Best Actor in Comedy earned him a resounding ovation from the audience.

“I’m very grateful to everyone who voted for me, and made this a reality. Very special thanks to all the organisers, for giving us something to look forward to. I would like to urge movie producers to use their movies as a voice to fight the vices in our country. It’s time to make a change; let’s do our part to make a change,” he urged.

Rita-Dominic-AMVCAOther winners were Desmond Elliot (Best Supporting Actor in a Drama); Funke Akindele (Best Actress in a comedy); Tope Tedela (Best Actor in a Drama; Osita Iheme (Best Actor in a comedy); Rita Dominic (New Era Award), Michelle Bello who won the Trailblazer award amongst others.