ABUJA – THE Senate, Tuesday, approved eight persons  as career and non- career ambassadors as requested by President Goodluck Jonathan.

The development followed the successful screening of the nominees by the Senator Mathew Nwaogu’s led Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs.

The President had, on July 26, sent the names of the appointees whose name he gave as O.F. Muoh ( Imo), T.J Chinwuba- Akabogu( Anambra),  Adamu Emozozo (Edo) A. Echi ( Benue) G.M. Quist- Adebiyi, M Dauda (Borno) Hakeem O. Sulaiman (Ogun) and Dr Bolere Ketubu( Bayelsa) as the only non-career appointee for confirmation.

But just as the eight ambassadorial nominees were confirmed, the president again, sent in another letter,requesting the upper legislative chamber to confirm a fresh nominee, S.U Ahmed, a career diplomat from Gombe State , as an ambassador just as he sent two names as members of the Federal civil service commission.

In the same vain, the president forwarded the name of M. Bukar, to the Senate for confirmation as chief judge of the Federal Capital Territory,FCT.

He said his request was in line with recommendation of the National Judicial Council and Section 249 of the Nigerian Constitution as amended.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.