Breaking News

AGN set to host screen actors award


In the bid to recognise actors, individuals, corporate bodies, government and its agencies that have contributed immensely to the growth of the nation’s motion picture industry, the  Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN) has concluded plans to organise its own award ceremony  known as the Screen Actors Award.

Already, the National President of the guild, Ms Ibinabo Fiberesima has inaugurated a 10- man committee to oversee to the hosting of the maiden edition of the award this year.

To be chaired by Don Pedro Aganbi, the committee has other members, including Julius Omije as Vice Chairman, veteran actor, Tony Akposheri as PRO, Clinic Matters actress, Ejiro Okurame (mobilization) sensational actress Cynthia Agholor and Amaka Eze will be in charge of marketing the event.

Ibinabo, AGN boss
Ibinabo, AGN boss

According to AGN president, the committee has the responsibility of organising the Screen Actors Award, which  she described as one of the biggest events to be organised in the industry.

Ibinabo however, disclosed that entries/nominations for the award would be conducted through a website for that purpose as well as the social media, traditional media and text messages.

She also noted that adverts announcing the call for entries/nominations would run in key media in the country while a consulting firm will be appointed to collate the results of the entries/nominations through which the awardees will emerge.

Speaking further, Ibinabo said, the various categories for the award will soon be announced, urging the committee members to give their best to make the award a world class event

“This award should be to the glory of Nigerian actors and thus should have the clapping of excellence in terms of organisation, class and appeal. AGN wants to use the Screen Actors Award to specifically bring to national notice that the industry today is a high contributor to the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of Nigeria. Hence, there is need to celebrate the men and women who through their talents have brought glory to the nation… It is going to be a reward night for the successes recorded by these men and women,” she said.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.