Breaking News

Jonathan swears in 17 Ministers

PRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan yesterday swore in 17 of the 18 screened ministerial nominees with a promise to communicate their portfolios to them in writing by Monday.

The President who directed the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, Senator Anyim Pius  Anyim, to inform them of their portfolios, could not swear-in immediate past Managing Director of the World Bank, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, as she was said to have left for Washington D.C. to hand over, before returning to Nigeria.

The new cabinet members who sworn-in in the three batches of six, six and five, had their citation read by the Permanent Secretary, State House, Dr Dauda Jallo. While congratulating the ministers, the President said he would give his official charge to the ministers at the last swearing-in ceremony hopefully next week.

Those who took the oath of office included the Acting Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bello Haliru Mohammed, Professor Ita Okon Bassey Ewa, Comrade Abba Moro, Dr. Samuel Ioraer Ortom, Alhaji Bukar Tijani and Arch. Mike Onolememen.

Others are Bart Nnaji, Sen. Idris Umar, Prof. Mrs. Viola Onwuliri, Olusegun Aganga, Bolaji Abdullahi and Hajia Zainab Ibrahim Kuchi.
Also sworn-in are Ambassador Olugbenga Ashiru, Erelu Olusola Obada, Oloye Olajumoke Akinjide, Dr. Yerima Lawan Ngama and Amb. Bashir Yuguda.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.