Breaking News

INEC LIST: I’ll fight it out, says Akala

GOVERNOR Adebayo Alao-Akala of Oyo State has said he would fight it out to ensure that Peoples Democratic Party fields its governorship candidate in the April election.

Governor Akala, who was reacting to a report that the list of the party’s candidates was rejected by the Independent National Electoral Commission in Abuja said after the swearing in of 14 permanent secretaries that he and other chieftains of the party were prepared to make sure that INEC accepted the list.

He said this just as he described as mere speculation the court order that his perceived opponents in the governorship race got from a Federal High Court in Ibadan.

Adebayo Alao-Akala

According to the governor, he was yet to see the said court order adding that politicians could go to any length especially when they failed in their endeavours.

He said, “there is time for everything. Have you seen the court order with your eyes? We politicians can say a lot of things. It is just a speculation. And if it is true, it is not uncommon. It is expected from the opposition most especially when they fail.

Governor Akala who looked unruffled by the reports added that he had done everything possible to embrace his perceived opponents and was successful with some of them who are reasonable.

When asked if the same olive branch had been extended to Senator Lekan Balogun and others who still maintain a rigid stance against his re-election, he answered in affirmative.

“I have talked to some of them and have listened to me. But, some of them are not contented”.
While swearing in the permanent secretaries, he told them that it was their responsibilities as the most senior bureaucrat in their establishments to ensure that the set goals and objectives of government for their ministries were vigourously pursued and realized within stipulated period.

He used the opportunity to admonish all existing and newly appointed permanent secretaries to be up and doing in their task of ensuring effective, efficient and prompt service delivery.

“The present administration in the state demand your utmost cooperation for full implementation of its 13-point agenda tailored towards the delivery of democratic dividends to all citizens across the length and breadth of Oyo State”, he said.

The permanent secretaries that were sworn in are Mrs. Agboola Olofin, Mrs. Risikat Sale, Dr. Yekini Lawal, Architect Babalola Sunday, Mrs. Moyosore Ajani, Mrs. Kehinde Akintunde, Mrs. Olanike Sueba, Engineer Adegoke Adeyemi, Mr. Amoke Dahunsi, Dr. Olubumi Babalola, Mrs. Omolola Gbade, Mrs. Akintunde Olaniyi, Mr. Lateef Giwa and Mr. Jimoh Atanda.

Three commissioners were locked out because they came to the event late behind schedule. The commissioners that were not allowed to enter after the governor had entered are the Commissioner for Women Affairs, Mrs Deborah Oyelade, Commissioner for Establishment, Mr. Jelili Agboola and Commissioner for Agriculture, Mr. Kunle Ishola and some special advisers


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.