Winners of the 2009/2010 edition of the Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC) annual film essay competition have been announced.
They are Messrs Anayochukwu Precious Mbagwu(1st), Kehinde Akindele Akintobi( 2nd) and Akindele Oladimeji Ibimidu (3rd). The three contestants beat 42 other Nigerians who participated in the essay competition entitled “Building a Positive Global Brand: The Place of Film”, to emerge winners.

A statement from the NFC indicates that the winners have earned cash prizes of N100,000, N75, 000 and N50,000 respectively. The topic for the 2009/2010 edition, the statement added was to complement the Re_Branding Nigeria project initiated by the Federal Government.

Meanwhile, Afolabi Adesanya, MD of NFC, has congratulated the winners for coming tops in the 2009/2010 edition of the competition.

Adesanya said the participation is an indication that the efforts of the corporation to provide another platform such as the annual essay competition, for private participation in strengthening the fortunes of Nigeria’s motion picture industry were being adequately utilized. The corporation, he said, will continue to sustain the annual film essay competition and called on private individuals, corporate organizations to sponsor the Film Essay Competition.

The 2009/2010 film essay competition is the fourth in the series which started in 2006. Over 200 participants have been recorded since the competition began, with 12 of the participants emerging winners.

Cash prizes and certificates of participation will be presented to the winners at the 5th edition of the biennial ZUMA Film Festival holding at the Nicon Luxury Hotel, Abuja from May 2nd_6th  2010.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.