May 30, 2024

Mbappe, Alonso, Arteta, others win at Globe Soccer Awards [See Full List] 

Mbappe, Alonso, Arteta, others win at Globe Soccer Awards [See Full List] 

By Biodun Busari

France and PSG forward, Kylian Mbappe, has clinched the Best Player at the KAFD Globe Soccer Awards Europe Edition 2024 held on Tuesday.

Stars and managers of the round leather game gathered at the Hotel Cala di Volpe in Costa Smeralda, Sardinia, Italy to grace the inaugural event dedicated to European football.

The awards which started in Dubai 14 years ago recognises European football excellence, both on and off the field.

Among other winners were Bayer Leverkusen coach Xabi Alonso with the Best Coach and Lamine Yamal with the Emerging Player award.

Meanwhile, Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta won Premier League Best Coach after his side finished second behind Manchester City at the end of this season.

Industry representatives and players past and present attended the event, including FC Barcelona striker Robert Lewandowski, three-time Champions League winner Fernando Morientes, former England manager Fabio Capello and the coach of the current Italian national side, Luciano Spalletti.

Mbappe, whose contract with his French club expires at the end of June, took to the stage amid huge commendation to collect the KAFD Best Player award.

“It’s an honor to be here — I see some great players, managers, legends. It’s always great to see everybody recognize your game. I want to thank my club; I know my president is here,” Mbappe said.

“It’s always a pleasure to be a part of this event. It is part of my journey. I want to work hard to keep my name in the history of football. There is a lot still to do and I am far away from what I want to achieve, but I will start this summer with the Euros.”

The star’s moment in the spotlight came minutes after Alonso, who led his Leverkusen side to an undefeated domestic double and the final of the Europa League, received Best Coach from Pedro Proenca, president of Liga Portugal.

“It has been a real pleasure to see old colleagues and friends here tonight in this beautiful setting,” said Alonso. 

“I’m proud to receive this award, not just for myself but for all Bayer Leverkusen. What we have lived this year has been phenomenal, a fantastic journey. It felt special since the beginning, all the connections we created with the fans, the players, the staff. We’ve been able to have a dream season.”

The 16-year-old Yamal claimed the Emerging Player award for scoring five goals and giving eight assists in 37 La Liga appearances this season. 

Xavier Puig, the Barcelona director responsible for women’s football, collected the Best Women’s Club award on behalf of FC Barcelona Femeni. Manchester City CEO Ferran Soriano received Best Men’s Club on behalf of the UK Premier League champions.

All five winners — Mbappe, Alonso, Yamal, FC Barcelona and Manchester City — also received a gold “Road to Dubai” medals from His Excellency Saeed Hareb, secretary general of Dubai Sports Council, confirming their qualification for the year-ending Dubai Globe Soccer Awards which will take place this winter in the UAE.

Below are the full list of awards:

KAFD Globe Soccer Awards Europe Edition 2024 winners:

Best Player: Kylian Mbappe (PSG and France)

Best Coach: Xabi Alonso (Bayer Leverkusen)

Emerging Player: Lamine Yamal (FC Barcelona and Spain)

Best Men’s Club: Manchester City

Best Women’s Club: FC Barcelona

Best Coach Premier League: Mikel Arteta (Arsenal)

Revelation Award: Atalanta

Football Leadership Award: Nasser Al-Khelaifi (PSG and European Clubs Association)

Comeback Award: Cesc Fàbregas (Como)

Special Career Award: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

Special Career Award: Gigi Riva

Coach Career Award: Luciano Spalletti

Player Career Award: Gianluigi Buffon

Sportsmanship Award: Gianluca Pessotto

Official La Liga Awards 2024:

La Liga EA SPORTS Champion: Real Madrid

Best U23 Player: Lamine Yamal (FC Barcelona)

Best Coach: Michel (Girona)

Best Goal: Jesus Areso (Osasuna)

Best Player: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)

Team of the Season: Unai Simon, Daniel Carvajal, Ronald Araujo, Antonio Rudiger, Miguel Gutierrez; Aleix Garcia, İlkay Gundogan, Federico Valverde, Isco, Jude Bellingham, Savio, Griezmann, Robert Lewandowski, Artem Dovbyk and Vini Jr.