President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday in Abuja swore in Justice Muhammad Tanko as substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN).

Tanko Muhammad, Buhari, CJN
Tanko Muhammad

Muhammad was first sworn in January as acting CJN following the suspension of former CJN Walter Onnoghen.

Today’s swearing-in of Muhammad followed the voluntary retirement of Onnoghen and his (Muhammed) subsequent confirmation on July 17 by the Red Chamber of the National Assembly as the substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria.

Muhammad, who hails from Doguwa, Giade Local Government of Bauchi State, was born on Dec. 31, 1953.

He obtained his primary education at Giade Primary School from 1961 to 1968 and then proceeded to Government Secondary School, Azare from 1969 to 1973.

Buhari, AGF shun suit querying Ag. CJN’s ‘fitness’, as court adjourns till June 3

He attended Abdullahi Bayero University College, Kano for his IJMB from 1975 to 1976 and later went ahead to read Law at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria from 1976 to 1980. He attended Nigerian Law School from 1980 to 1981.

Justice Muhammad was elevated to the position of Justice of the Court of Appeal from 1993 to 2006.

He became Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria in the year 2006 and was sworn in on Jan. 8, 2007 until his appointment as the Acting CJN by the president on January 25.

The swearing-in was witnessed by Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila.

Others at the event were governors of Bauchi and Ekiti states, Alhaji Bala Mohammed and Dr Kayode Fayemi, some top judicial personnel as well as friends, relatives, and associates of the new CJN.


Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.