Breaking News

Breaking: APC’s Oyetola wins Osun gov poll

By Dapo Akinrefon
GOVERNORSHIP candidate of the All. Progressives Congress, APC, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola has won the Osun State governorship election by scoring 255505 votes to defeat his main rival, Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who scored 255023 votes.

Gboyega Isiaka Oyetola

The Social Democratic Party, SDP, candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore scored 128053.

Declaring the result at the INEC office in Osogbo under heavy security presence, the Presiding Officer for the election, Prof Joseph Adeola Afuwape said: “That Adegboya Oyetola of the APC, having satisfied the requirement for this election is, hereby, declared winner of the election and is hereby returned winner‎.”

Osun rerun: PDP’s Adeleke wins Orolu Polling unit

48 political parties participated in the keenly contested election.

Summary of results

Registered Voters: 1,678,985
Accredited voters: 775687

Valid Votes : 721,621

Rejected votes: 47874

Total votes cast`; 769495

Adeoti of ADP: 49,743 votes

Adeleke of PDP: 255023

Oyetola of APC: 255,505

Omisore of SDP: 128053

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.