Breaking News

Update: INEC announces Ekiti election result

Results of Ekiti governorship election.

1. Ilejemeje LG

2. Irepodun/Ifelodun LG

3. Ido OSI LG

4. Oye LG

5. Efon Alaye LG

6. Moba LG
APC- 11,837
PDP- 8,520

7. Ijero LG

8. Gboyin
APC – 11,498
PDP- 8,027

9. Emure LG
APC – 7,048
PDP- 7,121

10. Ikere LG
APC- 11,515
PDP- 17,183

11. Ekiti West LG
APC- 12,648
PDP- 10,137

12. Ikole LG
APC- 14,522
PDP- 13,961

13. Ise/Orun LG
APC- 11,908
PDP- 6,297

14. Ekiti East
APC- 12,778
PDP- 11,564

15. Ekiti Southwest LG
APC- 11,015
PDP- 8,423

16. Ado LG
APC- 28,111
PDP- 32,810

Total votes
APC- 197,462 winner
PDP- 177,927

As Nigerians anxiously await the result of Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti, preparations for the final collation and announcement of the outcome of the crucial poll reached a fever-pitch at the headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC) on New Iyin Road in Ado-Ekiti.

NEC officials, including the chairman Mahmood Yakubu monitoring Ekiti election in the headquarters in Abuja

NAN reports that a giant electronic screen board had already been mounted on a pavilion to display the results of the election held in 2,195 polling units spread across 177 wards in the 16 local government areas of Ekiti.

Some members of staff of the commission were also seen making last minute preparations to ensure that the pavilion was ready for the announcement of the final results.

A correspondent at the venue reports that stern-faced security operatives mounted a check point some metres away from the INEC headquarters.

The combined team of security agents insisted all visitors must disembark and frisked before entering the premises of the collation centre.

NAN learnt that the security beef up followed speculations that some hoodlums might be planning to disrupt activities at the venue of the final collation exercise, prompting the deployment of more security personnel to the INEC headquarters.

Already, INEC had dismissed the purported results of the election posted on the social media, saying the figures did not emerge from the commission.

The Ekiti Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Prof. AbdulGaniyu Raji, made the clarification in a statement issued on Saturday evening.

“Our attention has been drawn to illegal release of results of the 2018 governorship election in Ekiti State on the social media.

” Consequently, we wish to inform the general public that the Ekiti state governorship election is still ongoing.

“Counting of ballots is still in progress, collation of results is equally going on in some areas.

” All the floating news in the social media in respect of the results of the election should be discountenanced by the public.

“The announcement of the election result would be made by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the appropriate time,” Raji said in the statement.

Fayemi wining with 13,869 votes

Dr Kayode Fayemi, candidate of the All Progressives Congress,in the Ekiti governorship election, was coasting home to victory, according to the results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission in majority of the 16 local councils in the state.

Kayode Fayemi

Fayemi, who was governor of the state between 2010 and 2014, has won no fewer than 13 of the 16 councils, including the council of incumbent Ayodele Fayose.

In what appeared to be poetic justice, Fayemi won in Irepodun-Ifelodun council, the home base of Fayose.

Fayemi polled 13,869 votes. The PDP candidate, Olusola Eleka, Fayose’s deputy got 11,456 votes.

This time around, Fayemi only lost in Fayose’s polling unit and ward.

However, the votes in other wards were not enough to secure victory.

The local government has 11 wards. Results from each ward was collated at the headquarters of INEC situated in Igede.

A total of 66,162 electorates are registered in the local government while 27,306 were accredited.

INEC headquarters in Ado-Ekiti is compiling all the results from the local councils and the official announcement will be made later Sunday.

According to reports from local council collation centers, Fayemi also won in Oye LGA, Ilejemeje, Ido-Osi, Gbonyin and Moba.

However, he narrowly lost Ado-Ekiti, where Fayose doled out a minimum of N4000 to would-be-voters on Friday.

PDP’s Koloapo wins polling unit

Prof. Olusola Eleka won in his polling units as counting began after voting on Saturday.

Kolapo Olusola
Kolapo Olusola

Olusola Eleka, who is the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate scored 452 votes in his unit in Ikere Ekiti, while Dr John Kayode Fayemi of the All Progressives Congress (APC), scored 105 votes.

There are 1,103 registered voters in Unit 007, Ward 2, Okekuru, Ikere-Ekiti, where the PDP candidate voted.

The reverse was the case at Fayemi’s polling unit of Isan Ward II Unit 9. While Fayemi polled 186 votes, Olusola Eleka got only 2 votes.

In Polling Unit 7 ward 9 Olora layout on Adebayo Street in Ado Ekiti, while PDP polled 257 votes, the APC trailed with 202 vote

Fayemi, Segun Oni win polling
By Dirisu Yakubu
ABUJA-The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has cautioned the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) not to accept or announce any result that does not reflect the true votes cast at polling centres in Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti State, warning that such would be a direct call to crisis.

The PDP said the public was already aware of the plots by the All Progressives Congress (APC) to smuggle in altered results at the collation level.

“The PDP has however noted how some compromised INEC officials are allowing the hirelings of the APC to attack and chase away our party’s agents at the collation centers, particularly in our electoral areas of stronghold.

“The PDP in very strong terms, cautions INEC to be guided and ensure that it is not pushed by the APC or any interest, for that matter, to subvert the will of the people as that would be a recipe for crisis.

“The people of Ekiti state already know the results that have been declared at the polling centers and as such know where the tide is flowing at every level of the Ekiti electioneering process,” the party stated in a press release issued by the party’s spokesman, Kola Ologbondiyan.

Fayemi wins polling unit
By Dapo akinrefon
THE candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Dr Kayode Fayemi has won his polling unit.
Fayemi scored 186 votes, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Dr Kolapo Olusola scored 2 votes.
The presiding officer for Ward 11, polling unit 009, in Ogilolo, Isan, Mr Ajayi Kolade signed the result sheet‎.

Segun Oni secures polling unit for APC

Also a ‎former governor of Ekiti State, Engineer Segun Oni has won his polling unit.
Oni, who cast his vote at Ward 04, Ifaki 11, polling unit 006 at townhall/ ogbon Iro was able to secure a victory for the‎ All Progressives Congress, APC.
There was wild jubilation immediately the announcement was made as APC supporters rejoiced at the outcome.
APC scored 129, while PDP scored‎ 103

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.