Chairman of Davo Dani Microfinance Bank, Prince Austin-Enajomo Isire, has taken over from Chief Simeon Ohwofa as President of Urhobo foremost club, Urhobo Social Club, Lagos, with a pledge to build a club house to be called Urhobo House.

The club had earlier acquired a piece of land at Abijo GRA, Lekki, Lagos, for that purpose.

Speaking after taking his oath of office before a gathering of Urhobo sons and daughters, which included Olorogun Moses Taiga, President General, Urhobo Progress Union worldwide, Olorogun Otega Emerhor, All Progressive Congress, APC, chieftain and his wife, Rita,  Chief Goodie Ibru, Isire said “We shall reach out to other Urhobo social groups to forge common fronts to promote development of Urhobo land.

“We shall also reach out to other ethnic groups and traditional rulers of other ethnicities within the Niger Delta to work together as Nigeria grapples with looking for the way forward. United, like a bunch of broom, we can move mountains in our cooperative ventures, but alone, we are greatly diminished individually.

“The challenges before us are daunting, but the resolve within us is humongous and we shall surely overcome.”

He paid tribute to his predecessors, pledging that his executive will stand on their shoulders to reach greater heights.

Other members of the executive are: Chief Jacob Diedjomahor, 1st vice president; Dr. Isaac Feludu, 2nd Vice President; Mr. Francis Ewherido, General Secretary; Mr. Clement Awhana, Assistant General Secretary; Mr. Francis Anidi, Treasurer; Chief Emmanuel Ogbon, Publicity Secretary; Chief Bright Apinoko, Financial Secretary; Dr. David isiavwe, Social Secretary; Chief Jitobo Akanike, Legal Adviser; Mr. Diamond Okotete, Welfare Officer and Chief Wilson Okpubigho, sergeant-at-arms.

Other dignitaries who graced the handover were internationally renowned artist, Prof. Bruce Onakporbreya, Chief Johnson Barovbe, Chairman, Board of Trustees, USCL, former Deputy Vice Chancellor, University of Port Harcourt, Prof S. W. E. Ibodje, member, Delta State House of Assembly, Chief Efe Ofobruku, retired Commissioner of Police, Chief Johnson Ighomereyo, Elder statesman, Chief Godwin Ogbetuo, retired permanent Secretary, Pa Marcus Okagbare and past presidents of the club, Chief Augustine Odo-Tadafe and Most Snr. Evangelist, Emmanuel Evue, among others.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.