Badagry, a town foundedaround 1425 A.D, today provides endless exciting experience for tourists from the first story building in Nigeria constructed by the Anglican missionaries to the Agia Tree , where Christianity was first preached in Nigeria, fascinating beach fronts and enchanting lagoon waterways, and the the Island point of No return, the town indeed has a lot to offer tourists.
But an aspect of history that most tourists to the town often relate with has to do with the slave trade that took place in Badagry around 1473 by Portuguese slave merchant named Ferman Gomez, who sold most of the inhabitants of Gberefu as slaves to Europe.
To many tourist, a visit to Badagry is not complete without a visit to Seriki Abass Slave museum; Mobee Slave Relics museum; the Vlekete Slave market; George Freemingo’s tomb and the Slave Ports .
Seriki Abass Brazilian Baracon: Portuguese Baracoon , a jail or cell in English, was built by the Brazilians slave merchants in 1840 and was handed over to their black agent, Chief Seriki Williams Abass, who was also once a slave boy.
The compound has been converted into a living museum by the government with the tomb of Chief Seriki Abass , who died in 1919 featuring in the courtyard prominently.
The legendary Baracon apart from the preservation of hidden relics of the slave trade era, also offers great insight into “the exchange rate” mechanism used by inhuman white slave merchants, as an umbrella fetches 40 slaves, a cannon gun (Big) exchanges for 100 slaves, a bottle of gin (spirit) 10 slaves, a dane gun – 40 slaves, ceramic pot/plate – 10 slaves and a mirror – negotiable.
The Mobee slave Relics Museum
The Mobee slave museum provides full details and in the place, one could find slave chains such as neck chain, leg chips, children link, ankle clasp, the mouth chip, wrist chip, the water bow among others.
Chief Sunbu Mobee late progenitor and white cap chief of the then dreaded slave trade was however said to have led campaign for abolition of slave trade in 1852.
Another white capped chief named Chief Nunayon Mobee was appointed by colonial government of Sir, Macpheson as justice of peace for Badagry in 1950. He later became Menu Toyon I, the Mobee of Badagry kingdom in 1957.
Though the present white capped chief Menu Toyon II has transformed the dynasty and kept the relics in trust for Nigerians yet unborn, it is not very difficult for one to betray emotion at such place as Mobee Slave Museum and others such likes that tell the ugly story of man’s inhumanity to man which dotted the landscape of Badagry.