Breaking News

PDP sweeps Ebonyi LG Poll, opposition boycotts


ABAKALIKI—THE state chapter of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, weekend, won the 2013 Local Government Area elections conducted by Ebonyi State Independent Electoral Commission, EBSIEC, across the 13 councils of the state.

Announcing the results, yesterday, at the Headquarters of EBSIEC, Chairman of commission, Chief John Nkwuda, claimed the election was free, fair, and devoid of violence and other forms of irregularities.

According to him, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, All Progressive Congress, APC, and All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA, fielded candidates for the election.

He said: “The APC fielded only one chairmanship candidate in Ezza South LGA, APGA also fielded only one councillorship candidate in the same council while the PDP fielded candidates in all positions across the

He announced that Mr. Bartholomew Ottah (PDP) for Abakaliki LGA: won all the 62, 518 votes cast, Anthony Ekoh (PDP) Afikpo North: won all 178,222 votes cast, Ogbonnaya Orji, PDP, Afikpo South: won all 51,461 votes cast and Paul Iganga (PDP) Ebonyi: won all 70,402.
Jeff Ogbu (PDP) Ezza North: won all 73,528 votes cast, Lazarus Ogbee (PDP) Ezza South: won 55,770 out the 55,803 votes cast, Moses Nwekoyo (PDP) Ikwo: won all 102, 967 votes cast and Obinna Nwachukwu

(PDP) Ishiellu: won all 72,752 votes cast. Joseph Obasi (PDP) Ivo: won all 72, 752 votes cast, Godwin Nwogbaga (PDP) Izzi: won all 111,279 votes cast, Enekwachi Akpa (PDP) Ohaozara: won all 53,273 votes cast, Mrs Chinyere Elom (PDP) Ohaukwu: won all 101,502 votes cast and Mrs Chinyere Nwanoke (PDP): won all 64, 505 votes cast.”

He noted that the APC chairmanship candidate in Ezza South LGA, Francis Nweke scored 33 votes while the APGA councillorship candidate in Nsokara ward of the same council, Boniface Ofunne polled 17 votes in the councillorship contest.

Nkwuda announced that the PDP won the 18 councillorship wards of Abakaliki LGA, 14 wards in Afikpo North, 14 wards of Afikpo South, 14 wards of Ezza North, 14 wards of Ezza South and 24 wards of Ikwo.

“The PDP won the 24 councillorship wards of Ikwo, 20 wards of Ishiellu, 14 wards of Ivo, 18 wards of Izzi, 19 wards of Ohaukwu, 14 wards of Ohaozara, and 15 wards of Onicha LGA,” he said.

He urged the losers to wait for another opportunity while thanking the electorate for their peaceful and orderly conduct.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.