DUBBED as the Sunshine State, Ondo, which was created on February 3, 1976, has a population of 3,441,024 persons (2006 census) distributed across 18 local councils within a land area of 14,788.723 Square Kilometres.

Located in the South-West geo-political zone of Nigeria, Ondo State is bounded in the North by Ekiti/Kogi states; in the East by Edo State; in the West by Oyo and Ogun states, and in the South by the Atlantic Ocean.

Ondo State is a multi-ethnic state with the majority being Yoruba while there are also the Ikale, Ilaje, Arogbo and Akpoi, who are of Ijaw extraction and inhabit the riverine areas of the state.

The state plays host to 880 public primary schools, and 190 public secondary schools and a number of tertiary institutions including the Federal University of Technology, Akure, Ondo State Polytechnic, Owo, Federal College of Agriculture, Akure and Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo.

Arguably, Ondo is one of the most resource-endowed states of Nigeria. It is agriculturally rich with agriculture contributing about 75 per cent of its Gross Domestic Product (GDP). The main revenue yielding crops are cocoa, palm produce and timber. Ondo region is now the core of the Nigerian cocoa belt accounting for about 60 per cent of Nigeria’s annual output.

Other tree crops include kola, rubber, coffee, oilpalm and exotics especially Tectona grandis and Gmelina arborea.

Arable crops like rice, cassava, maize, yam, pepper, beans, tomatoes and a host of other vegetables. are cultivated mostly in the northern part of the state.

The creeks and coastlands of the state are rich in prawns and lobsters and the state is said to have reserve for stock fish.

Ondo is also blessed with mineral resources such as petroleum, tar sand (bitumen), kaolin clay, iron ore, granite and quartz sands.


Name                         Title          Took Office           Left Office        Party
Ita David Ikpeme    Governor    Mar 1976    Jul 1978    Military
Sunday Tuoyo    Governor    July 1978    Oct 1979    Military
Michael Adekunle Ajasin    Governor    Oct 1979    Dec 1983    UPN
Michael Bamidele Otiko    Governor    Jan1984    Sept 1985    Military
Michael Okhai Akhigbe    Governor    Sept 1985    Aug 1986    Military
Ekundayo Opaleye    Governor    Aug 1986    Dec 1987    Military
Raji Alagbe Rasaki    Governor    Dec 1987    Jul 1988    Military
Bode George    Governor    Jul 1988    Sept 1990    Military
Sunday Abiodun Olukoya    Governor    Sept 1990    Jan 1992    Military
Bamidele Olumilua    Governor    Jan 1992    Nov 1993    SDP
Mike Torey    Administrator    Dec 1993    Sept 1994    Military
Ahmed Usman    Administrator    Sept1994     Aug 1996    Military
Anthony Ibe Onyearugbulem    Administrator    Aug 1996    Aug 1998    Military
Moses Fasanya    Administrator    Aug1998    May 1999    Military
Adebayo Adefarati    Governor    May 1999    May 2003    AD
Olusegun Agagu    Governor    May 2003    Feb 2009    PDP
Olusegun Mimiko    Governor    Feb 2009     ????        Labour



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.