Breaking News

Sani Lulu impeached

Maigari is new NFA chairman
The Executive Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Sunday in Abuja announced the impeachment of its President, Alhaji Sani Lulu, and two members.

Addressing a news conference, nine out of the 13 members claimed that the trio of Lulu, first Vice-President Amanze Uchegbulam and Taiwo Ogunjobi were found guilty of financial impropriety.

Alhaji Sani Lulu sacked

The announcement came in the wake of events in Nigerian football since June 30, when the Federal Government announced a two-year ban on the country’s participation in international football competitions.

Following government’s decision, the World Football Governing Body, FIFA, on Friday issued a 48-hour ultimatum for government to rescind its decision.

The Nigerian government had yet to agree on FIFA’s demand as at Sunday afternoon when an aide of the Sports Minister insisted that FIFA should carefully study events that led to government’s decision.

Dr Peter Singabelle, spokesman of the NFF executive, said the decision to impeach the three members was taken after all matters relating to government’s move and the general future of Nigerian football were decided.

“We are taking this decision not because we have not been seeing certain wrongs for long, but the issue of impeaching certain members, including Lulu, had been in the pipeline.

“But other considerations and matters had always cropped up for us to leave it until later.

“Many Nigerians will recall that the leadership was almost impeached at the lastAfrica Cup of Nations in Angola,’’ he said.

Singabelle said the group would now initiate a call for the federation’s congress to ratify the decision.

He said the board had in the meantime, appointed Alhaji Aminu Maigari as its acting president, with Mr Obinna Ogba as the acting first vice-president.

NAN reports that the group, apart from Singabelle, Maigari and Ogba, included Mr Dominic Iorfa, Princess Bola Jegede, Mr Patrick Ekong, Mr Taiwo Odebunmi, Mr Stephen Gyebgon and Alhaji Abubakar Ladan.

All of them were present at the news briefing.

The only NFF Executive Committee member, whose stand was unknown as at Sunday afternoon was Alhaji Shehu Adamu, who could not be reached through his telephone numbers.

With the death of Alhaji Alili Galadima and the exit of Chief Oyuki Obaseki, whose tenure as the Chairman of the Nigeria Premier League (NPL) had expired, the committee had been reduced to 13 members.

However, it will be noted that the committee was inaugurated on Aug. 28, 2006 with 15 members.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.