Breaking News

N-Assembly to pass Climate Change Commission bill

By Henry Umoru
ABUJA—CHAIRMAN, Senate Committee on Environment and Ecology, Senator Folashade Grace Bent disclosed, weekend that a joint National Assembly Committee on Climate was working on a bill to establish a Climate Change Commission in the country.

It would be recalled that the bill sponsored by the Chairman, House Committee on Climate Change, Eziuche Ubani was passed in the House about two months ago and refereed to the Senate for concurrence.

Speaking during a lesson sharing event organised by the Coalition for Change, C4C, Senator Bent who represents one of the Senatorial Districts in Adamawa State, stressed that Nigeria would become the first country in Africa to have achieved this if the Bill for this Commission aimed at catering for the environment was passed.

The event was organised by the C4C to honour and celebrate those Nigerians, as well as successes learnt in the course of carrying out its activities.

At the event, 34 ‘Champions of Change’ including the Clerk of the National Assembly, Prince Olayemi Ogunyomi were honoured. The Clerk of the National Assembly was recognized for his work in nurturing democracy and bringing civil society groups and government together for positive change.

Also speaking, the Chairman, House Committee on Public Procurement, Yusuf Tuggar who was also honoured stressed that the fight against corruption in Nigeria was on-going, just as he said that no country has achieved close to 100% in the fight.

Speaking further, Senator Bent noted that with the effort, Nigeria has shown that it has a will to make its environment good, attributing the success story recorded in the environment sector to the support of C4C and Nigeria Climate Action Network, NCAN.

“For any government agenda to succeed, we must place premium on the environment,” she added.
Also in her remarks, former Minister of Women Affairs Hajia Salamatu Hussein expressed hope that the women would celebrate the attainment of 30 per cent affirmative action by the end of 2011 general elections.

Earlier in her address of welcome, the C4C Chairperson Professor Bolanle Awe who presented a book aimed at nurturing the young ones on the need to be agents of positive change, however expressed hope that it would help move the country forward.

Others who were honoured at the occasion were Justice Muhammadu Lawal Uwais, Prof.Bolanle Awe, Minister of Women Affairs Mrs Josephine Anenih, Senator Grace Bent, Rep Farouk Lawan (PDP, Kano), Senator Ime Ufot Ekaette, Rep Ezeiuche Ubani, Rep Yusuf Tugar, Rep Sada Soli Jibia, Rep Binta Masi Garba, Senator John Shagaya, Hajia Amina Az-zubair, Amb.Bunu Sherif, Reuben Abati and Comrade John Oda among others.

Highlight of the occasion was a drama sketch by Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Cultural Troupe which focused on the need for all Nigerians irrespective of tribe and religion to work together for Nigeria’s growth.

The Coalition for Change, C4C, is a DFID Nigerian led initiative aimed at achieving effective use of resources and formal accountability.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.