Breaking News

Akala second term ambition splits Oyo Reps

By Tordue Salem

ABUJA—PLANS by Oyo State Governor, Adebayo Alao-Akala wants to succeed himself in 2011, is already creating tension in the state as  a faction of the Oyo caucus in the House of Representatives is opposed to the move.

The 14-member caucus in the House of Representatives is presently at daggers drawn over the Governor’s ambition.

A faction of the caucus said to be backing the Governor, and believed to be led by the Chairman of the caucus in the House of Representatives, Rep. Depo Oyedokun has reportedly shown open support to Gov. Akala for a second term.

Oyedokun who represents Oluyole Federal constituency of Oyo State with six other members of the group had paid the Governor a visit, where they promised to work for him to realize his second term ambition.

But Chairman of the South West caucus in the House, Representatives, Ayo Adeseun was miffed when newsmen contacted him over a possibility of the pact with the state’s helmsman.

“Please count me out of such nonsense. I am not part of it and will never be part of it,’’ he said.

Adeseun who doubles as Chairman, House Committee on Appropriations, said he was shocked to find his colleagues selling themselves cheaply for a governor’s ambition.

Lanre Agoro on his part denied the caucus ever took such a decision.
But efforts to get the side of caucus leader, Mr. Oyedokun, did not yield results at press time as his mobile phone was inaccessible.

Another member of the caucus, Mr. Ajibola Muraina, however confirmed the call on the Governor saying, “Yes, it is true we went to Ibadan to give our solidarity support. Governor Akala remains our leader in Oyo State and we are against anybody taking the party away from him.’’

According to him, the legislative group would also push against plans by the state Peoples’ Democratic Party executive to dissolve the party in the state.

“It is unconstitutional and illegal to dissolve the party executive in the state. Akala is our man and our leader in Oyo State and we are solidly behind him,’’ he said.

Seven out of the 13 members of the caucus with other party chieftains, held a meeting on Thursday with Mr. Alao-Akala in Ibadan.

The lawmakers were Depo Oyedokun, Muraina Ajibola, Waheed Gbede, Abass Olopoenia, Folake Olunloyo-Oshinowo, Olusegun Akinloye and Mulikat Akande-Adeola.

Absent at the meeting were  Ayo Adeseun, Kamil Akinlabi, Festus Wale Adegoke, Omotayo Oyetunji, Lanre Agoro, Taiwo Adewale and the only AC member from Oyo State, Rep Tajudeen Abisodun.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.