Breaking News

Yar’Adua appoints Alaibe Special Adviser on N-Delta

By   Daniel Idonor
ABUJA—President Umaru Yar’Adua has appointed the former Managing Director of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Mr. Timi Alaibe, as Honorary Special Adviser to the President on Niger Delta Affairs.

The appointment was contained in a statement by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Olusegun Adeniyi.

According to the statement, Alaibe’s primary assignment is to work with the Presidential Committee on Amnesty and Disarmament of Militants in the Niger Delta to ensure that its objectives are speedily achieved in furtherance of the Yar’Adua administration’s agenda for peace, stability and rapid socio-economic development in the region.

Alaibe, who will report directly to the President will also serve as Special Presidential Negotiator on the Amnesty process.

He Alaibe is expected to put the immense goodwill which he enjoys among stakeholders in the region to good use in driving the amnesty and disarmament process forward to a positive conclusion within the specified period.

Alaibe was on April 9, this year relieved of his appointment following the dissolution of the board of the commission as approved by President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua.

A Presidential statement then, said “President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua has approved the dissolution of the current Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, with effect from April 12, 2009”.

According to the statement, the sack of the board, which was inaugurated on April 12, 2005, by the President, was in line with Section 3(1) which provides for four-year tenure of office.

“This is in fulfillment of the Section 3(1) of the NDDC Act, 2000 which provides for four-year tenure for members of the Board, other than ex-officio members, from the date of appointment at the first instance.

The current Board was inaugurated on April 12, 2005”, the statement explained.

The statement further disclosed that while Bayelsa, the home State of the out going managing Director, is now to produce the new chairman of the Board, the Managing Director slot of the commission now goes to River State.

“In the new Board to be reconstituted, Bayelsa State will produce the Chairman, while Rivers State will produce the Managing Director. The Executive Directors (Finance and Administration) and (Projects) will be produced by Delta and Akwa Ibom States, respectively”, the statement noted.

Similarly, the statement stressed that “in line with Section 2(1) of the Act, the North-West, North-East and North-Central Zones will produce three representatives of the non-oil producing States on the Board, while oil Producing Companies will nominate a representative to the Board in accordance with Section 2(d) of the NDDC Act, 2009”.

Alaibe who hails from Bayelsa State was the third MD of the NDDC, succeeding Hon.  Emmanuel Agwariawvodo, the commission’s second MD, from Delta State; while Engr.  Godwin  Omene  from  Delta  state  was  the  first  to  occupy  the  office, following the establishment of the commission in 2000.

He was succeeded by Hon. Emmanuel Agwariawvodo also from Delta state.

Agwariawvodo  vacated  the  office  to  contest  the  gubernatorial  election  in  Delta  State  in  2007  and  was  replaced  by  Mr.  Timi  Alaibe.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.