May 18, 2024

FG constitutes governing councils of tertiary institutions

Develop your states, make them economically viable - Tinubu tells APC govs, others

President Bola Tinubu

By Joseph Erunke, Abuja

The federal government has constituted the governing councils of federal universities in the country.

Former Chairman, Senate Committee on Education, Joy Emordi, legal luminary, Yusuf Ali, SAN, and Senator Udoma Udoma, are among those named as pro-chancellors and chairmen of the institutions.

This list of the constituted governing councils was released on Saturday, by the Federal Ministry of Education.

The development came barely four days after the Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU, protested the non constitution of the governing councils almost one year after dissolution by the government.

ASUU which had addressed a press conference over the issue among others, had threatened to embark on nationwide strike if its demands were not met by the government within two weeks.

The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Didi Esther Walson-Jack, disclosed in a statement that inauguration and retreat of the councils would hold on May 30 and 31, 2024.

She said:“The inauguration and retreat for the Governing Councils will take place on Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31, 2024, at the National Universities Commission, 26 Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama, Abuja. Both events will commence at 9:00am daily. “

The list which comprises technocrats, politicians and traditional rulers is made up of 50 federal universities, 37 polytechnics and 24 colleges of education.

According to the list, while a former Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Udoma Udo Udoma was appointed as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman of Bayero University, Kano, Kano State, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), Chief Wole Olanipekun was named as Pro-Chancellor/Chairman, University of Lagos (UNILAG), even as a former Governor of Bauchi State, Isa Yuguda leads the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).

In the same vein, the University of Abuja which is currently embroiled in an indefinite strike called by its ASUU chapter is headed by Prof. Jibrilla Dahiru Amin.

Also, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Yusuf Ali, was named as the Pro-Chancellor/Chairman, Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State, a former Executive Secretary of National Universities Commission (NUC) Professor Emeritus Peter Okebukola as well as Dr. Abiodun Layonu head the University of Port Harcourt and University of Benin Governing Councils respectively.

Similarly, chairmen of boards of polytechnics include: HRH Arc. Ezeogo Ewa Elechi (Federal Polytechnic, Ugep, Cross River State), Salisu Kallamu (Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State), Ekem Okeke (Federal Polytechnic, Orogun, Delta State), Sir Paul C. Chukwuma (Federal Polytechnic Kabo, Kano State), Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi (Federal Polytechnic, Daura, Katsina State), Otunba Tajudeen Abioye (Yaba College of Technology, Lagos State), Prof Erik Omogbai (Federal Polytechnic Bida, Niger State) among others.

For colleges of education, the immediate past Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, David Andrew Adejo heads the Federal College of Education (Technical), Akoka, Lagos State as Chairman while renowned labour leader, Comrade Isa Aremu pilots affairs as Chairman of the Governing Board of Federal College of Education (Tech), Keana, Nasarawa State. Also in the list is Sen. Binta Masi (Federal College of Education, Iditep, Akwa Ibom State), Prof. Isah Garba (Federal College of Education, Kontagora, Niger State), Sen. Emmanuel Anosike (Federal College of Education, Aha-Amufu, Enugu State) among others.