Egypt’s coach Carlos Queiroz on Wednesday in Cairo released his team’s final list of players for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) which begins on Jan. 9 in Cameroon.

The Pharaohs squad has 25 players, led by Liverpool star Mohamed Salah, while there is a return for Mahmoud Hassan “Trezeguet”.

The Aston Villa player has had a long period of absence due to knee injury.

Egypt hold the record of winning the AFCON seven times, with the last one won from the 2010 edition in Angola.

ALSO READ: Emmanuel Dennis scores but West Ham hammer Watford 1-4

They play in Group D alongside Nigeria, Sudan and Guinea Bissau, and will start their campaign against Nigeria on Jan. 11.

Final Squad

Goalkeepers: Mohamed El-Shennawy (Al-Ahly), Mohamed Abu Jabal (Zamalek), Mohamed Sobhi (Pharco), Mahmoud Gad (ENPPI)

Defenders: Akram Tawfiq (Al-Ahly), Ayman Ashraf (Al-Ahly), Ahmed Fetouh (Zamalek), Mahmoud Hamdi (Zamalek), Mahmoud Alaa (Zamalek), Mohamed Abdel-Moneim (Future), Ahmed Hegazy (Ittihad Jeddah – Saudi Arabia), Omar Kamal (Future)

Midfielders: Amr Al-Soleya (Al-Ahly), Hamdi Fathi (Al-Ahly), Imam Ashour (Zamalek), Abdullah Al-Saeed (Pyramids), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal – England), Ahmed Sayed “Zizo” (Zamalek), Mohanad Lasheen (Tala’a El-Jaish)

Forwards: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool – England), Omar Marmoush (Stuttgart – Germany), Mohamed Sherif (Al-Ahly), Mustafa Mohamed (Galatasaray – Turkey), Mahmoud Hassan “Trezeguet” (Aston Villa – England), Ramadan Sobhi (Pyramids)


Vanguard News Nigeria


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.