The Kwara State All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, has won the governorship election held on Saturday.

APC governorship candidate in Kwara Abdulrahman Abdulrazak:

Abdulrazaq polled 331,546 votes to emerge as the winner of the highly anticipated election.

Abdulrazaq Atunwa, his counterpart and flagbearer of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 114,754 votes to emerge as the runner-up in the election.

ALSO READ: 35 political parties in Kwara collapse structures, back APC candidates

From the official results declared in all the 16 local government areas in the state, Abdulrazaq led Atunwa with a margin of 216,792 votes. Atunwa is Senate President, Bukola Saraki’s anointed. The ‘O To Ge’ movement seems to have landed the sucker punch on Saraki with this latest development. Notably, the APC beat the PDP in all the local government areas.

Meanwhile, despite the presence of party agents at the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ilorin, the Kwara State capital where the results were being announced, those representing the PDP boycotted the venue.

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.