Elections 2019 Updates

February 25, 2019

Presidential/NASS polls: APC, Buhari leading in Lagos

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode (2nd right); his wife, Bolanle (right); Chairman, All Progressives Congress (APC) Lagos, Alhaji Tunde Balogun (middle); APC Governorship Candidate in Lagos, Mr, Babajide Sanwo-Olu (2nd left) and his running mate, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat (left) during the Flag Off Campaign of the Lagos APC at the Skypower Ground, G.R.A, Ikeja, on Tuesday, January 8, 2019.

By Olasunkanmi Akoni

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Lagos State has started the declaration of presidential election results in the state.

L-R: Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, with National Leader, All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and Chairman, APC Lagos, Alhaji Tunde Balogun during the a Stakeholders’ meeting at the Party Secretariat, Acme Road, Ogba, on Wednesday, February 20, 2019.

The announcement of the results which started in the early hours of today, Monday, February 25th, showed APC winning both Presidential and National Assembly elections in seven out of 20 local governments already announced.

Meanwhile, the INEC Returning Officer (REC), Dr Sunday Adebisi has officially announced the results of Lagos West Senatorial Election, Badagry Local Government Area and pronounced Sen. Solomon Adeola,aka, Yayi, Ọmọ West, APC candidate winner in Badagry LGA.

APC polled-23,189- while, PDP, polled, 16,248.

Also, Babajimi Benson, of the APC, emerged winner at the Ikorodu Federal Constituency of Lagos State, in the House of Representatives election held on Saturday, February 23, 2019.

JB, as he’s popularly called by numerous followers, won by polling 42,963 votes, while Mrs Popoola of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, came second with 19,825 votes.

Benson won the PDP candidate with over 20,000 different to emerge victorious.

Maximum votes were also given to the APC presidential candidate, President Muhammadu Buhari and the APC senatorial candidate, Hon Bayo Osinowo, by the good people of Ikorodu LG, Igbogbo/Bayeku, Ijede, Imota, Ikorodu North and Ikorodu West LCDAs.

Collation of results for Presidential election, Lagos State as sdeclared by collation officers for each local governments.

1. Apapa Local Gvt:




2.Ikorodu LGvt



3.Ibeju/Lekki LGvt



4.Lagos lsland LGvt

APC: 27,452

PDP: 7,396

5.Epe LGvt



6. Ikeja LGA

APC: 23,638votes

PDP: 21,518 votes

7. Badagry LGA

APC: 21,417votes

PDP: 17,936votes

8.Agege Local Govt



9. ETI-OSA Local Govt


APC: 20,963

10.IFAKO/IJAIYE Local Govt




11. Mushin Local Government


APC: 43,543

12. Oshodi/lsolo Local Govt

PDP: 28,806


13. Lagos Mainland Local Govt

PDP: 15,137 votes

APC : 22,684 votes

14. Ojo local govt

PDP: 29,019 votes

APC :24,333 votes

15… Surulere

APC: 30,621

PDP: 31,603


16. APC: 28,418

PDP: 21,978