Breaking News

Wike, Dickson, Okowa nominated for Niger Delta Award

Three governors in the South-South are being considered for the Niger Delta Governor of the Year Award 2017 by Gbaramatu Voice Newspaper, a multi-media organisation in the region.

The Governor of Rivers state, Wike

The governors are Nyesom Wike of Rivers, Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta and Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa.

Mr Jacob Abai, the Publisher of the newspaper, said in Lagos on Sunday that the award was to reward excellence in governance.

“The three governors were shortlisted for the award in view of their contributions to development and impacting positively on lives of the people of the Niger Delta region, particularly in infrastructure, education, health and empowerment.’’

Governor Dickson

Abai said that a committee to select the choice of the newspaper had been set up and that the nomination would be announced soon.

He said that the award presentation would be part of the grand finale of the third anniversary of the Gbaramatu Voice newspaper.

Abai said that presentation of the award would take place on Tuesday, Sept. 11 at KFT Place in NNPC Housing Complex, Ekpan, Delta.

He said that Prof. Charles Dokubo, Special Adviser to the President on Niger Delta Affairs, would deliver a lecture on “Niger Delta Beyond Oil:Searching for Sustainable Development” at the ceremony.

Gov. Okowa

Dokubo is also the Coordinator, Presidential Amnesty Programme.

According to the publisher, the lecture will be followed by the Award of Recognition/Induction into the Gbaramatu Voice Hall of Fame.

Gbaramatu Voice is a multi-media newspaper established in Effurun, Sapele in 2015.

The newspaper is a public trust dedicated to the pursuit of the truth as it affects the South-South region and the larger society.


All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.