Breaking News

APC crises, 2015 – 2017 (Dec)

Early, even before the inauguration of President Muhammadu Buhari on May 29, 2015, the APC had already fallen on bad times.

*First was the composition of the Transition Committee which created bad blood in some quarters

*This was followed by the quest to impose the leadership of the National Assembly; it failed as both Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara, were not the choices of those who attempted to carry out the imposition

*The prolonged non-submission of nominees for ministerial posts created its own crisis

*The crisis between the National Assembly and the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation

*The tiff between the Department of State Services, DSS, and the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC

*The no love lost relationship between the Attorney General of the Federation and the EFCC Chairman

*The open face off between Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, National Leader of the party and John Oyegun, National Chairman

 The battle has since moved to the states:

  1. Ondo State: Borrofice Versus Akeredolu.
  2. Kogi state: a. Faleke Versus Yahaya Bello; b. Dino Melaye/APC Exco Vs Yahaya Bello
  3. Bauchi State: Speaker Dogara Versus Gov. Mohammed Abubakar
  4. Kaduna State: Sen. Shehu Sani versus Gov. El-Rufai
  5. Oyo State: Adebayo Shittu versus Gov. Ajimobi
  6. Ogun State: Sen. Adeola-Yayi versus Gov. Amosun
  7. Kano State: Sen. Kwankwaso versus Gov. Ganduje
  8. Zamfara State: Sen. Marafa versus Gov. Yari
  9. Rivers State: Amaechi versus Sen. Magnus Abe
  10. Imo State: Gov. Okorocha versus Sen. Ifeanyi Ararume
  11. Edo State: Oyegun versus Oshiomhole
  12. Bayelsa: Timipre Sylva versus APC State Exco
  13. Abia: APC elders versus Minister of Trade and Investment, Okechukwu Enelama.
  14. Gombe: Sen. Danjuma Goje vs. (disbanded) State APC Eco
  15. Ekiti State: Segun Oni versus Fayemi
  16. Osun State: Aregbesola versus Lasun
  17. Lagos State: Ambode vs. APC National Legal Adviser, Muiz Banire.
  18. Delta State: Erue Jones-led Exco versus some party bigwigs.
  19. Adamawa State: Gov. Jubrilla Bindow versus ex-Gov. Nyako, Sen. Nyako and Mr Nuhu Ribadu.
  20. Cross River: State Exco versus Niger Delta Affairs minister, Pastor Usani Nguru.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.