July 13, 2017

PDP chieftain, supporters defect to APC in Enugu

PDP chieftain, supporters defect to APC in Enugu

Pix: Youths and Members of i stand with Bola Tinubu Group, during the i stand with Bola Tinubu Loyalty Walk in Support of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, National Leader of All Progressive Congress[APC] in Lagos. Yesterday. Photo: Bunmi Azeez

By Dirisu Yakubu
The trouble in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) seems to be benefiting the All Progressives Congress day by day as more of its members and leaders are crossing over to the APC. The latest is coming from Enugu State where Barrister Amaechi Ozoemena and hundreds of his supporters jumped in the APC ship yesterday.

Barr. Ozoemena who is an Abuja based legal practitioner and a grassroots politician played a major role in the victory of the PDP in the 2015 general election in Igbo Etiti L.G.A of Enugu State defected to the APC at an elaborate ceremony at his home town Ukehe.

He was received by the State APC Chairman Dr. Ben Nwoye who handed over the party’s flag to him.
Ozoemena explained that the decision to defect to the APC was informed by the desire to contribute his quota in the new direction agenda of the ruling government which in his words would take Nigeria to the Promised Land.

He said the PDP as a political organisation has failed to meet the yearnings of the people and lack viable political future in Enugu State. While charting the course for a new political direction for the South East, he stated that “Ndigbo need to bring their astuteness into the APC and ensure that their interest are promoted and protected. ”

In his remarks, the State APC Chairman Dr. Ben Nwoye welcomed Barr Ozoemena and his supporters to the party, describing their decision to move to APC as the right step in the right direction.
Those who witnessed the defection included the immediate past speaker of the Enugu State House of Assembly Rt. Hon. Eugene Odo, an APC BOT member Gen. JOJ Okoloagu (retd), a former local govt. Chairman/Commissioner in Enugu State Chief G.B Onoh, party chairmen of Local Government Areas and other chieftains of the party.