Breaking News

Osun West Bye-Election: Days of impunity in the party are over – PDP

Kindly Share This Story:

By Dirisu Yakubu
‎ABUJA-The National Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Professor Adewale Oladipo on Sunday commeded all the stakeholders in the just concluded Osun West Senatorial District Bye-Election in Osun State in which the Party’s candidate, Otunba Nurudeen Adeleke emerged the winner, noting that the outcome of the poll actually reflected the wishes of the electorate .

Ademola Adeleke

In a statement made available to news men in Abuja Sunday, Oladipo specifically commended the Independent National Electoral Commission. INEC, the Security Agencies and the electorate for the peaceful conduct of the polls, saying that the peacefull conduct of the bye-elecion had shown clearly that all hope was not lost in the nation’s electoral system.

The scribe also commended the Senator Ali Modu Seriff- led National Working Committee NWC, of the Party for allowing the People of the Senatorial District picked the candidate of their choice, who eventually led the party to victory despite all odds and the power of incumbency.

He said: “We have to thank all the stakeholders in the bye election for its peaceful conduct and as well for allowing the votes of the electorate to count this time around -no tales of inconclusive election. We are very happy as a political party, the outcome of the election reflected the wishes of the Osun West Senatorial District electorate.

“The INEC personnel , the Security Forces and the general electorate by their exemplary conduct, have made a great contribution to deepening our hard-earned Democracy.

“The future of the country is very bright if INEC will continue to handle future elections in the untry as it did in the Osun bye election” he said.

The National Secretary also hailed the Hon Soji Adagunodo led State Working Committee, SWC, for delivering on their first major electoral assignment in the state despite all odds

It would be recalled that the PDP won 9 of the 10 Local Government Areas in the Senatorial District with 97,480 votes with the APC winning in only one, garnering 66, 116 votes in the 10 Local Government Areas.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!